• WALC Image

     Westbury Adult Learning Center

    OUR MISSION

    “The mission of Westbury Adult Learning Center is to provide individuals and community with a wide range of rich learning experiences and services tailored to meet their unique needs.  We are committed to providing our adult learners with the knowledge, linguistic abilities  and 21st Century skills necessary to participate effectively as citizens, workers, parents, and family members, and to be contributing members of the local and global community.”


    We are proud to offer open enrollment.  Please click on the following links for registration information.

     

     Registration and Information: 516-874-1854

    FAX: 516-874-1826

     

    COURSES WE PROUDLY OFFER

    • English as a New Language (ENL):  These instructional courses teach adults (21 and over) Conversational English, Listening/Speaking and Communication Skills, Grammar, Vocabulary, and Writing. These classes are offered at different levels to suit the needs of the students.  We offer five (5) different levels of ENL courses.  As students progress, they move from one level to the other. 

    • Adult Basic Education (ABE): These courses help students strengthen their basic literacy, numeracy, and problem-solving skills.

    • Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC): This course helps students prepare for the TASC, earn a high school equivalency diploma, improve educational skill levels and increase employment opportunities. The instruction and classes are specially designed and customized for the student's skill level. Students work at their own pace as instruction in individual or small group settings.

    • Civics Education:These courses prepare students with  various skills and training they require to obtain skillful employment. Learning in this course is practical and meaningful for adults to acquire English while learning about citizenship, civic participation, and U.S. history and government.

    • Microsoft Office Specialist: Get hired, demonstrate clear business impact, and advance your skills. With the Microsoft Office certification program, you can take your career to the next level.

     


    Our Dedicated W.A.L.C Staff

     

    Maria Angelica Meyer, Director

    mmeyer@westburyschools.org

      516 874-1954

     

    ~~~~~~

    Program Coordinators

    Mr. Jaime Martinez 

    jmartinez@westburyschools.org

     

    Maria Jose Vaca

    mvaca@westburyschools.org

     

    Maria Isabel Martinez

    mimartinez@westburyschools.org

     

    ~~~~~~~

    Assessment Facilitators

     

    Robert Hassinger

    rhassinger@westburyschools.org

     

    Lori Lerner

     llerner@westburyschools.org

     

    ~~~~~~

    Data Manager

    Gary Dumornay

    gdumornay@westburyschools.org

     

    ~~~~~~

    Secretary

    Ruth Cosentino

    rcosentino@westburyschools.org

     

     

Calendar

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar